//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Nintendo DS

I used to be hooked on playing games on my mobile phone. The old Ericsson phones used to have tetris and solitaire which was a pleasing way of wasting your time in the bathroom or on the bus. I’ve had quite a lot of mobile phones and my current one, a Nokia E65, has no games built in. Mobile games are largely experiencing the same rather tragic fate as the PC games: More focus has been put on the visual elements at the expense of the game play. I took the consequence of it and bought myself a Nintendo DS. I travel almost an hour each way to work, and having a DS is an enjoyable way of passing time on public transportation. I bought Castlevania Portrait of Ruin with the console and later I’ve bought Mario Kart DS – two very entertaining games, but it was not until I bought the CycloDS Evolution catridge that I truly enjoyed the platform. The CycloDS evolution is a game catridge where you can insert a Micro DS memory card and load home brewn games and software, as well as backup roms. Ironically, even though my 2GB card is almost filled with games now, the game I enjoy the most is a home brew game called Video Games Hero. It’s a Guitar Hero style game, where instead of rock classics, you play video game theme songs. It’s wonderful, although sometimes the way the notes have to be played is not entirely logical in relation to the song being played. But please, try the game, it’s fun and free!

Discussion

One thought on “Nintendo DS

  1. I recently sold my DS. I regret this a lot! And the thing is, I’ve still got games for it, which is just torture. I have to say though, my favourite games on the DS were CSI: Dark Motives, and the newest Legend of Zelda game.
    Video Games Hero sounds awesome, I wish I had found it when I had my DS!

    x

    Posted by trixdeviant | September 10, 2008, 11:41 pm

Leave a comment